So, Last Night I Saw A Red Elephant…

I was afforded an opportunity to go to a networking event for entrepreneurs in place of someone whose opinion I value. The idea of attending such an event started a conversation in my head. “A networking event for entrepreneurs,” I thought to myself. “Who wouldn’t want to be their own boss?” I was far from being an entrepreneur since I was still punching a clock/”working for the man.” (In this case working for the woman, since all my supervisors are women.) “Expand my mental and financial horizons,” I thought. Maybe I could use this opportunity to learn from people who are already entrepreneurs. “I’ll keep my mouth shut and ears open so that I can learn a thing or two”…This isn’t a lecture; it’s a networking event so keeping my mouth shut would defeat the purpose of networking! Well, if I wanted to change my situation, I’d have to broaden my horizons so I registered.

Healthy Quinoa

Photo: Jennifer

I double-checked my email and got a confirmation that said “Join us for a Red Elephant networking event!” That was interesting…I previously declared to the universe that I was ready for success, and in response I got a “Red Elephant?” The universe contains boundless energy and infinite wisdom, so who am I to look a gift horse in the mouth (even if that gift horse was in fact a Red Elephant)? I couldn’t help wondering if that was the universe’s way of using symbolism…Red meaning stop, and Elephant, meaning that it was a “fat chance” that I was ready for success. The universe’s sense of humor didn’t stop there. The title of the networking group was titled “Screw Networking as Usual.” Wow, this was getting more intriguing by the second. Screw it indeed! I’d already made my mind up that I was going to this event, so I turned the mental chatter of doubt off, and put my big boy pants on.

I was directed to the check-in table, and given a magnetic name-tag which I fumbled around with for a bit. I was also informed that I should pick one of two coaches based on what skill set for success I wanted to take. My invitation to the event was provided by Richard Oceguera, so would I be wrong to pick the other coach? Both coaches seemed to have something that I needed to put into practice, so I couldn’t choose one or the other. Screw it, I signed up for both coaches and decided to let the chips fall where they may. After I got a chance to look around, the setting was rather warm for a networking event. There were hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, and a food area that had very small intimate lamps flickering about. I interacted with a few people, and to my surprise, everyone was warm, friendly, and better still, everyone with whom I encountered, pronounced my name to perfection. After living a lifetime of having my unique name butchered like a U.S.D.A. Prime Roasting chart, I was thoroughly surprised and impressed. Over at the food table, there were perfectly portioned servings of grilled chicken, quinoa, and cranberries and other healthy dishes being served. I Initially expected chips, or the old “cheese and crackers bit.” I was pleasantly surprised by the grilled chicken and quinoa, which are both staples in my regular diet. Shortly after scarfing down my food, I was tapped on my shoulder by an old co-worker turned life coach that I hadn’t seen in years. It just seemed as if everything at this “Screw Networking as Usual” event was as advertised. There was nothing typical about the event thus far, and it almost seemed like I was supposed to be there.

One of the event’s organizers, Iman made an announcement that everyone would have to stand up, introduce themselves, and pitch their goods and services in 3 minutes or less. This is where the rubber meets the road, or better yet where the sh_t hits the fan. Not only did I not have any goods and services to pitch, but I am deathly afraid of public speaking! I’d rather kick a hibernating bear in the pants rather than speak in front of a room full of strangers! There were 55 people at this event, not counting the coaches and organizers. I sat there waiting my turn with sweaty palms and sheepish grin in tow. My heart beat rattled my magnetic name-tag, and my thoughts were scattered all over the place. When it was my turn, I stuttered and yammered about being a writer and felt that everyone imagined me naked, when it was supposed to be the other way around. Once I sat back down and was able to feel my limbs again, Mariposa got up to speak. Her services were about empowering entrepreneurs through speech. Mariposa’s pitch, was spoken word. Man, were her words spoken! This was definitely not your grandfather’s idea of a networking event, that’s for sure. Some time after Mariposa, came Amy. Amy grabbed the audience by the throat and didn’t let it go until she was done. Amy got her pitch and point across with an exclamation point in under 2 minutes flat. Amy might as well have dropped the microphone and diddy bopped off the stage, wow!

With the introductions done, we were going to meet with the coaches that we signed up for. As opposed to meeting with one coach, Iman informed the group that everyone would get a chance to meet with each coach instead. Just then, I remembered that I initially signed up for both coaches from the very beginning. It was as if the universe said “Screw what you were thinking, this is where you are supposed to be at this moment.” Mentally, I nodded in affirmation. When it was all said and done, I got to meet some great contacts and got some great resources as well. Surprisingly, even after my speaking debacle, some people actually told me that I left an impression on them. One of the more accomplished bloggers at the event left me with this piece of advice: “Just Write,” she said, “just write.” That was just the right amount of advice that I needed to chronicle my first Red Elephant sighting.

6 comments

  1. That was very well written. I was able to follow thought process and understood your emotions on public speaking. Very well done young man.

    Like

  2. I can’t wait now to read the others. So this is blogging? I learning all the social medias- I like the blogging it’s pretty cool, I might could do that. Hell I like to write too. Thanks for the lesson.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment